Cross Image
Our Lady of Victory / St. Malachy
Star Image
            spacer

Our Lady of Victory parish was decreed in 1942 and the first mass was celebrated just three days after, with the founding pastor, Fr. Ernest Francis Bambrick. The basement church was completed in April 1943 and was in use until the superstructure was completed in late 1958. On December 15th 1973, we fulfilled a long cherished dream – the burning of our mortgage. In just over 30 years, and with the generous grace of God, OLV grew from modest beginnings with borrowed and donated space and materials to a parish with a splendid church, church hall, rectory and a network of support organizations.

Our Lady of Victory Church is a testament to the Christian faith and hope of its spiritual leaders and the faithful parishioners. From its name, which anticipated a victorious end to the Second World War, to the years of modest growth and expansion, Our Lady of Victory has been a beacon of assembly and worship for English-speaking Catholics in Buckingham. Today’s pastor, Fr. Albanus Ogowuihe, is the parish’s 15th resident pastor.

spacer
 
© Copyright 2004 Our Lady of Victory / St-Malachy Site
490 Charles Street • Gatineau • Québec • J8L 2K5
Telephone: (819) 986-3763
Website powered by Red Line Services